Lady with ‘wheel’ power to succeed

By FARIK ZOLKEPLI farik@thestar.com.my

KUALA TERENGGANU: A woman is determined to make her mark in the cycling business usually dominated by men.

Maisarah Nasiruddin, 23, operates her own bicycle shop in Tok Jembal here.

She still has to deal with incredulous stares from her customers, especially men, when they realise that she is the shop owner.

“They are impressed with my knowledge of bicycles and cycling. Some think that I’m joking when I tell them I run the shop,” she said.

Sole proprietor: Maisarah installing a bicycle in her shop yesterday.

Maisarah’s love for bicycles seems obvious since her father Nasiruddin Wan Jusoh, 46, used to represent Terengganu in cycling competitions.

However, she said she did not have what it takes to be a competitive cyclist.

“Instead, I chose a profession that enables me to be around bicycles,” she told The Star.

The perky lass, who is the oldest of seven siblings, said she gained experience by helping her father run a bicycle shop in Pantai Batu Burok when she was 17.

“I managed to convince my father to help me set up my own shop in March last year,” she said.

Maisarah said running a bicycle business was a big responsibility, adding that the bicycles sold at her shop were priced from RM400 to as high as RM10,000.

While other girls her age are busy dating or even getting married, Maisarah insists she is not concerned about such “trivial” things.

“My priority is to become a successful businesswoman. Boyfriends and dating can wait for now,” she said yesterday.

About akarimomar

Bukit Besar, Lorong Mok Pe, Jalan Wireless, Kuala Terengganu Ampang, Selangor SSPS1 1965-1969 SMSSKT 1970-1976 UPM 1977-1981 SIUC 1982-1984 UIS 1985-1987
This entry was posted in Berita, Ekonomi & Keusahawanan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

